Call us on 08442 640670

Latest Updates

  • Dignified Care: Two Years On

    23/09/2013

    ‘Dignified Care: Two Years On’ considers the progress made by Health Boards in Wales, Velindre NHS Trust and the Welsh Government against the twelve recommendations in the 2011 ‘Dignified Care?’ report.

  • Share your experiences of hospital treatment in Wales

    02/05/2013

    In 2010, I published my ‘Dignified Care?’ Report, which found that many older people were not treated with dignity and respect while in hospital and that, in some cases, the care provided was ‘shamefully inadequate’. In September, I will publish a follow-up progress report, to assess how things have changed for older people in hospitals since I issued my recommendations to the NHS in Wales and the Welsh Government.

  • Dignified Care? One Year On - Progress Report from the Older People’s Commissioner for Wales

    11/10/2012

    Older People’s Commissioner for Wales, Sarah Rochira, has today issued the first monitoring report following the Dignified Care? Review of older people’s experiences in hospital. The report finds there has been an improvement in how seriously the NHS and Welsh Government are taking the issue of dignity in care, and that there is real action underway. However, despite this action, we do not yet have the evidence that there has been a significant improvement in the quality of care and patient experience.

  • Dignified Care for older people is fundamental

    20/03/2012

    Ruth Marks, Older People’s Commissioner for Wales, has again highlighted the importance of dignity in care following The Royal College of Nursing’s ‘Safe staffing for older people’s wards’ report published today.

  • Dignified Care? Review: Follow Up

    06/03/2012

    Last year Ruth Marks, the Older People’s Commissioner for Wales, published her ‘Dignified Care?’ Review which examined the experiences of older people in hospital in Wales.

  • ‘Dignified Care?’ Review Outcome: Return of the Matron

    03/02/2012

    The Commissioner is very pleased that matrons will be returning to the wards of some hospitals in North Wales and welcomes the news that Betsi Cadwaladr Health Board will be the first Board to reintroduce this focal role that will surely bring reassurance to patients.

  • Response to Statement by Health Minister: Progress made against recommendations in ‘Dignified Care?’ report

    11/01/2012

    Following the statement made by Minister for Health and Social Services, Leslie Griffiths, during Plenary on Tuesday (10 Jan) Older People’s Commissioner for Wales, Ruth Marks, said...

  • Older People's Commissioner for Wales’ final verdict on response to “Dignified Care?” Review

    01/11/2011

    Ruth Marks, Older People's Commissioner for Wales, has judged that all the bodies subject to the “Dignified Care?” Review have provided enough information to satisfy her that they will comply with her 12 recommendations. Ruth Marks commented: “All the bodies have accepted my recommendations and developed clear action plans to make sure they make a difference in practice...

  • ‘Dignified Care?’ Review: Interim statement

    14/09/2011

    Commissioner welcomes second responses on dignity and respect

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. Next page